RSS

Daily Prompt – Cupids Arrow.

14 Feb

I used to write a lot of poetry up until  a few years ago.  I saw the daily prompt and found an old one out that I thought was suitable for the occasion!  As part of my fashion course we did a study on Pop Art, one of my favourite paintings at the time was ‘We rose up slowly’ by Roy Lichtenstein, the original already has text beside it and I thought I would write my own interpretation.

We rose up slowly ……………………….

We rose up slowly
like sirens from the sea,
the secret of our kiss
left behind us in the deep.

Out of sight of others
water all around
your lips found mine and
touched without a sound.

And so we swim back,
to the golden shore
strangers,
like we’d never touched before.

I am not sure of the quality, but I liked it at the time and I didn’t give in to the temptation to re-write it now!

http://uploads0.wikipaintings.org/images/roy-lichtenstein/we-rose-up-slowly-1964.jpg

Visit the Daily Prompt for more prose!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Daily Prompt – Cupids Arrow.

  1. adinparadise

    February 15, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Lovely writing.:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

